Author Topic: S corp for freelancer?  (Read 1353 times)

GUNDERSON

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
S corp for freelancer?
« on: September 12, 2018, 04:16:41 PM »
Hi folks,
I'm sorry if this is rehashing an old question but you can't search for single-letter words! Ha.

I'm a freelance writer and am wondering whether to be an LLC or an S corp. I like the idea of cutting down my self-employment tax with an S Corp, but also have been advised that this would lose me the useful deduction of per diems for traveling. Does anyone have thoughts on when S corps are worth it? Or have a calculator? My income is a bit erratic, but in the ballpark of 50-60K after deductions.

Or if there are other issues I'm not thinking about here, please let me know! Thanks

SeattleCPA

• Handlebar Stache
    • Evergreen Small Business
Re: S corp for freelancer?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2018, 04:45:10 PM »
Hi folks,
I'm sorry if this is rehashing an old question but you can't search for single-letter words! Ha.

I'm a freelance writer and am wondering whether to be an LLC or an S corp. I like the idea of cutting down my self-employment tax with an S Corp, but also have been advised that this would lose me the useful deduction of per diems for traveling. Does anyone have thoughts on when S corps are worth it? Or have a calculator? My income is a bit erratic, but in the ballpark of 50-60K after deductions.

Or if there are other issues I'm not thinking about here, please let me know! Thanks

First, an LLC can be either a sole proprietorship or an S corporation... so that's really different from decision as to how your biz gets taxed.

Second, 1120S S corp tax returns really aren't DIY projects. In your other message, it sounds like you want to do your return yourself... thus this remark.