Author Topic: Pay Zero Taxes  (Read 5068 times)

LivinTheDream

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Pay Zero Taxes
« on: March 12, 2017, 01:48:30 PM »
(Newbie here, please be gentle if I run afoul of any norms or rules.  Thanks in advance. :)

Background:
I'm edging into my retirement zone.  My income comes mainly from dividends (largely qualified dividends) and interest.

I have some investments that have (thankfully) appreciated over the years.

I have seen various posts and theories of how to "Pay Zero Taxes".  One oft-cited one here: http://www.gocurrycracker.com/never-pay-taxes-again/

Of note to me is the statement: <<Unless that income comes from qualified dividends or long term capital gains.  In this case, a married couple can have $19,500 a year in income AND $70,700 in investment income, TAX FREE (if that isn’t a strong signal to not work, I don’t know what is.)>>

Question:
Obviously the above depends on an individual's specific tax & income situation.

Is there an easy (or only moderately hard) way to calculate how much gain could be taken in a given year and still minimize Federal and State taxes?

Thanks!

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
Re: Pay Zero Taxes
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2017, 02:29:40 PM »
It's impossible to give a foolproof formula that will work for everyone, because people have different family situations and income sources and tax credit eligibility that can affect their taxes. However if we keep it pretty simple, assume you're an early retiree with no income other than from taxable index funds and Roth conversions, there are a few numbers you need to know.

First: the standard deduction. In 2017, this amount is $12,700 for married couples, $9,350 for head of household, and $6,350 for singles. If you have itemizable deductions in a higher amount than this, you can deduct more.
Next: the personal exemption. This is $4,050 for yourself, your spouse, and each dependent.