Author Topic: Effects of TCJA on freelancers  (Read 1808 times)

kristof

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Effects of TCJA on freelancers
« on: March 04, 2018, 04:02:54 PM »
Like some others on these boards, I'm a freelance software developer. I'm trying to understand the effects of the new US tax laws on what I'll pay for 2018.

My business is a pretty vanilla sole proprietor LLC. If I'm reading the guide below correctly, 20% of the first $157,500 of profit I make this year will be tax free. Is that correct? Am I missing any exceptions/things I need to look out for?

https://blog.freelancersunion.org/2018/01/04/how-the-tax-cuts-and-jobs-act-impacts-freelancers-2/

Since this will potentially affect both how much I work (i.e. it's an incentive to stay below $157,500) and how I work (incentive to stay away from W-2 positions as the salary bar will be higher compared to 1099 income) I figured I'd try to get ahead of this early in the year, and perhaps advice from the more tax-savvy can help others in my position too. Thanks in advance for anyone with relevant advice!

SeattleCPA

• Handlebar Stache
    • Evergreen Small Business
Re: Effects of TCJA on freelancers
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2018, 06:53:01 AM »
The Sec. 199A deduction--the 20% deduction you reference--should save you big on your taxes. But it's more complicated that your post describes. Here's the blog post I did back when law passed that goes into key details:

https://evergreensmallbusiness.com/pass-thru-income-deduction-dozen-things-every-business-owner-must-know/

But note that it's your taxable income that needs to be below $157,500 (if you're single) in order to get the deduction. That means that you can probably make quite a bit more than $157,500 if you have deductions, use a pension, take the self-employed health insurance deduction, etc

Slow&Steady

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2018, 03:27:09 PM »