Author Topic: Curious about my projected 2018 tax return  (Read 3698 times)

browne497

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Curious about my projected 2018 tax return
« on: May 13, 2018, 05:55:05 PM »
Hello all,

This will be the first year I've really done anything significant to effect my taxes and I've done some math but I am by NO MEANS a professional, just trying to get an idea of what to expect when I file my taxes for this year. I'm active duty military. While my total income is around $60k (single), my taxable income is only just under $30k because half of my pay is non-taxable allowances I receive intended for housing, food and Cost of living for the area I am in. On top of this I will have contributed the max of $18,500 to my traditional TSP and $5500 to my traditional IRA when all is said and done which will reduce my taxable income to around $7k. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm pretty sure I will still qualify for the standard deduction on top of that which will be $12k this year reducing my taxable income to $0. My question is if I will simply get back the money I currently paid on the $5500 that went into my IRA or is there more to this? Should I look into the Saver's credit even though I will already have $0 taxable income? Any help is appreciated. If any more information is needed, feel free to ask.

Cheers,

Trey

terran

• Magnum Stache
Re: Curious about my projected 2018 tax return
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2018, 08:54:27 PM »
You should consider recharacterizing some/all of your IRA contribution to Roth and maybe also switching some of your TSP contributions to Roth. You want to at least fill the standard deduction owe enough tax so the savers credit can reduce it back down to $0. That way you will never pay any tax on those Roth contributions. Right now you're deferring income from a time when you're paying no taxes to a time when you might pay some taxes.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2018, 11:07:48 PM »