Author Topic: Cash strategy  (Read 1772 times)

dizzy

• Stubble
Cash strategy
« on: October 07, 2020, 08:12:24 AM »
So once upon a time I was a full time musician making $20k a year or less.  During that time (first 20 years in the workforce), I got some cash.  It never was an extreme portion of my pay for the year (at most 10-15%), so whatever, yeah?

Last 3 years I started making more (NOT a full time musician anymore).  Meanwhile I was getting some small cash: occasional tips from my job and once and a while on a gig (most stuff checks or apps these days). It was a tiny amount of money, until the last month when everything got nutso.  “Maybe” now getting a couple hundred in cash a week of house calls.  My patients are insisting to pay me in cash, and much more than my standard fee.  I am so freaking lucky and yeah, passing it on for friends and donating. 

I am mostly self employed- will make about $5k from a W2 and then estimated 45-50k from self employment not including this.  So far I maxed HSA, trad IRA, and basically solo401k (rest of funds in a kickstarter and will put into 401k in December).  So everything else would go in the extra 20% portion for solo401k.  Any suggestions on how much to report.  I’m giving my boyfriend rent/utilities in cash, but it’s only $335.  My COL in general is pretty low and couple things need to be with a card.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Cash strategy
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2020, 11:51:39 AM »
Any suggestions on how much to report.
Perhaps the amount you receive?

SeattleCPA

• Handlebar Stache
    • Evergreen Small Business
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2020, 03:59:18 PM »
Any suggestions on how much to report.
Perhaps the amount you receive?

+1

seattlecyclone

• Walrus Stache
    • My blog
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2020, 07:19:53 PM »
Yeah, your post basically boils down to "should I pay my taxes?" Yes. Yes you should. Could you get away with not paying them? Probably! Play that game at your own risk.

MustacheAndaHalf