Author Topic: A question about pre-paying state/property taxes  (Read 2069 times)

webguy

• Bristles
A question about pre-paying state/property taxes
« on: December 13, 2017, 10:56:52 PM »
Hi! I’m kinda new to this sub forum but I browse occasionally for tax info. Thanks to all of you tax masters for the great information!  I have a quick question. I’d ask my CPA but he’s really unresponsive (I need to find a new one!) so thought I’d ask you fine people instead:

I run my own small business and pay quarterly estimated state and federal taxes. I heard that the state and property tax deduction might be going away in 2018. I’m planning to pay our 2017 4th quarter state taxes before Dec 31 so we can deduct it this year, but can I also prepay any of our 2018 state estimated taxes now in 2017 so that I can deduct them?

Also, if I have a mortgage and property taxes are paid from escrow/rolled into the mortgage payment then is it still possible to prepay them?

If it helps; I’m in MN, USA, business is an LLC filing as an s-Corp, MAGI will probably be around $850-900k. Property taxes around $8k/year.

Thanks so much for any help or insight you can provide!
« Last Edit: December 13, 2017, 11:06:18 PM by webguy »

jpdx

• Pencil Stache
Re: A question about pre-paying state/property taxes
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2017, 11:56:12 PM »
« Last Edit: December 14, 2017, 12:05:10 AM by jpdx »

Undecided

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2017, 08:27:14 AM »
The latest is that the House/Senate conference bill is going to allow up to $10,000 of combined SALT and property tax deductions.

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/12/13/us/politics/tax-bill-republicans-deal.html?hp&action=click&pgtype=Homepage&clickSource=story-heading&module=a-lede-package-region&region=top-news&WT.nav=top-news