Author Topic: What's the craziest thing you've done in the name of frugality?  (Read 118035 times)

Frugal_Red

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: What's the craziest thing you've done in the name of frugality?
« Reply #50 on: September 05, 2014, 05:59:50 AM »
When I was in college I would spend the last day of each semester going from dorm to dorm collecting all the paper, pens, binders etc. that all the student had thrown out.  I found computers / cables that I could sell or give away, microwaves, fridges and other whatnot.  To this day I haven't had to buy any computer office type supplies and my first apartment was furnished with the furniture I got on those trash days. :-D

I love dumpster diving!  Even now a decade since I graduated, and with an annual salary >100k, I still grab stuff from the curb if it looks good. :-P My parents think it is great but quite a few of my friends think it is weird.

Squirrel away

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #51 on: September 05, 2014, 06:30:05 AM »
We don't have a car either. I was reading on another forum where lots of people were saying that it was bizarre that some adults lived without a car. Some people seemed to think men who didn't drive was less manly or something. So silly!

When I was in college I would spend the last day of each semester going from dorm to dorm collecting all the paper, pens, binders etc. that all the student had thrown out.  I found computers / cables that I could sell or give away, microwaves, fridges and other whatnot.  To this day I haven't had to buy any computer office type supplies and my first apartment was furnished with the furniture I got on those trash days. :-D

I love dumpster diving!  Even now a decade since I graduated, and with an annual salary >100k, I still grab stuff from the curb if it looks good. :-P My parents think it is great but quite a few of my friends think it is weird.

That's brilliant and you are also saving stuff from going into landfill.

lemanfan

• Handlebar Stache