Author Topic: Well damn, I'm a millionaire.  (Read 31932 times)

Rosy

• Magnum Stache
Re: Well damn, I'm a millionaire.
« Reply #50 on: September 30, 2018, 11:52:18 AM »
Wow Congrats man! Hope you are getting a prenup. Getting married is a risky thing when you have all that money.

You started working as an engineer at age 21? Nice! I am also an engineer, late 20's, and just recently started working. I got a masters degree and I am glad I did it, but sometimes I look at some of my older friends, and they all have like over five years of experience under their belt already, and I'm like "man, I am running behind!"

Well - duh - you started five years later:)! SO WHAT? - It's your time now to make hay while the sun shines - enjoy the hell out of it!

... and take it from an old lady - do not discount what the right woman can bring into your life and do not underestimate that anyone, incl. a woman:) can change their lives and turn their finances around big time with a bit of encouragement - but never with a BF who operates under the assumption that a marriage is risky business for his finances.
A team with the same goal and mutual encouragement is the key to financial happiness - but unfortunately, that is only part of the equation of a happy marriage.

OP - CONGRATULATIONS! on the upcoming nuptials and the finances.

skyrefuge

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #51 on: November 21, 2018, 11:02:21 AM »
LOL. So in my original post that began this thread (when I reached $1M), I jokingly mentioned that my milestones can be used as market-timing cues, because back in 2007, when I had reached $500k, I stayed there for one whole day before the bubble burst and the market crashed down, and it took 5 years to return to $500k.

When I reached $1M and started this thread, no such dramatics happened, so timing the market off my milestones was just a joke after all.