Author Topic: Law school loans gone!  (Read 6635 times)

Suit

• Bristles
Law school loans gone!
« on: April 18, 2018, 09:31:34 AM »
I wanted to post to celebrate being done with them (!!!!) and also lay out how I did it.

I graduated law school in May 2011 and just shy of 6 years later I'm done with my loans. I graduated with around $127k (all federal at 6.8% or higher) and got a public service job. I was planning on doing PSLF so I made minimum payments or close to it for 4 years. I found MMM about 1 year after graduating and increased what I was saving and investing all while making minimum loans payments. 4 years into my public job I was becoming increasingly unhappy and experiencing stress related health issues. I decided to pay down my loans so I wouldn't feel trapped by limiting a potential job search to other public jobs. At that point my loans were around $134k. 

I sold off $70k in taxable stock and threw it at the loans. Then I refinanced with Earnest and set my loan payoff at 5 years so I could get 3.5% interest. Then I just kept throwing every extra dollar at the loans. All the while I kept living simply in the big aspects of life. I still live in the same studio apartment and drive the same 1995 vehicle. I also wound up switching jobs about 6 months ago for a pay cut and better quality of life and I wouldn't have done it without having paid down my loans. I just paid off my loans yesterday and used my emergency fund to pay them down to 0. Now it's all uphill!! 

A big thank you to all the MMM community, I wouldn't be debt free right now without you all.

lexde

• Magnum Stache
Re: Law school loans gone!
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2018, 09:34:39 AM »
Congrats! If you don’t mind sharing, what were you earning at your initial job out of law school and what did you end up making when you started killing that debt? No matter what, it was awesome progress. Are you enjoying your new field of law more?