Author Topic: Kitchen Sink Plumbing issue - no problem  (Read 1900 times)

dycker1978

• Pencil Stache
Kitchen Sink Plumbing issue - no problem
« on: September 11, 2017, 08:23:23 AM »
So yesterday morning, I decided it was time to use the tomatoes we picked during the week and makes some pasta sauce.  SO filled the sink and cleaned up the counters to get started.  When releasing the water from the sink when I was done, my wife heard a dripping sound. So I cleaned up the bottom of the sink and told her to run some water so I could see where it was leaking from.

It turns out it was leaking from the nut that tightens the drain to the drain tail pipe.  So I went out to the garage and grabbed some tools.  I got back in and moved the pliers to the nut, in order to tighten it.  When I put them up beside the drain, the pipe broke off in two. The Drain was rotted through.  Now I have never done anything like this before, so my wife calls the plumber.  She gets a quote back of $400 to do the drain on one side of  the sink plus part, because its Sunday.  So I say maybe not. 

Now to make a long story short, I took the old drain out, and learnt how it worked.  I then went down to Rona, and bought a new drain, plus a new drain for the other side.  I thought if one was rotten we may as well change both.  I also bought a piece of tail pipe, as recommended by the staff an Rona.

I went home and pieced it all together.  Total cost $22.63.  Took me about 20 minutes on the first one, and maybe 10 on the second, because I had learnt what not to do.

For a savings of $400.  That works out to one hell of an hourly rate.

soccerluvof4

• Walrus Stache
  • Retired at 50
    • My Journal
Re: Kitchen Sink Plumbing issue - no problem
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2017, 02:55:49 PM »
Well done! yes those plumbers love those calls they really smack it to the peeps that cant do anything themselves. Now a days too you can find how to fix most anything online.

Bracken_Joy

• Walrus Stache