Author Topic: Food Stamp Challenge  (Read 22837 times)

2Birds1Stone

• Walrus Stache
  • K Thnx Bye
Re: Food Stamp Challenge
« Reply #100 on: January 24, 2019, 09:15:48 AM »
I would have to increase my food spending to do this...

Same, and we eat very well.

Cassie

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #101 on: January 24, 2019, 12:08:42 PM »
Alex, were you a single parent with kids to care for when poor? Many people use their benefits to get some job training to get back to work. Most are on for short periods of time. It’s not a lifestyle. I was a social worker so I know what’s reality and what’s myth.

jim555

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #102 on: January 24, 2019, 04:12:09 PM »
But whether it's the "great majority" is a tougher question, actually.  Do you truly believe a majority of these people would never be able to support themselves?  I'm not talking about the mentally ill, disabled, obviously - but able bodied adults.  I think these programs and handouts encourage people to stay poor.  From a day to day perspective, sure they need the funds to eat, from a broader view, I would say that a majority do abuse the system even if not intentionally.

I think the food stamp challenge is awesome.  And of course it proves that people can eat VERY well on food stamps.  I'm wealthy and I barely spend more than the food stamp challenge on day to day meals.
I looked into SNAP aka food stamps out of curiosity.  Able bodied adults 18-49 are limited to 3 months in a 3 year period.  They are required to have a job or be in training or face the limit.  Only in times of high unemployment can this be waived.  Also the amount is calculated with a strict budgeting formula that accounts for your expenses.  It is rare to get the full allowed monthly amount.  Adults from 50-59 also have to be ready for work or training.  Only 60 or older do not have a work requirement.  Bill Clinton added these conditions in his welfare reform. 

mm1970

• Senior Mustachian