Author Topic: Finance 101  (Read 5590 times)

M237

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Finance 101
« on: October 28, 2015, 03:23:42 PM »
For what it's worth I wanted to share this power point. I made it for my little sister who just finish college and got her first job. I'm sure we've all heard people talking about the lack of financial education out there. Well this is my personal step towards remedying that problem. This is a basic lay out of what I think every person should know about finances.

Let me know if you have any critiques or if you think I should add something.

I plan on making a Wealth 101 power point also. I won't be a 'how-to-make-millions' (I'm a poor graduate student with lots of debt >.<  ). It will focus mainly on mindset and attitude along with some stuff about planning for retirement.

M237

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Finance 101
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2015, 03:27:43 PM »
Hmmm I should add a place for recommended Websites and Books

K-ice

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2015, 05:29:44 PM »
That was lots of work.  Nice!

I would maybe suggest a shorter version... depending on your sis's interest she may get lost in all the details.

On slide 17 "Percentages" it might be good to show a pie chart.  I would also have 2-3 pies.

1) A Dumb debt pie, where the amount of fixed and guilt free is greater than 100% and savings are zero.

2) Your pie

3) A super saver pie.  Fixed 25%, Auto invest 10%, Savings 60%, (note 70% total savings rate MMM style), 5% guilt free.
The 60% savings can be a bit flexible and put towards emergencies, cars, or trips but most should be invested as well.

Slide 19.  I think the most important thing about CC is to pay them off in FULL every month.  That is all you need to know!  It should be in bold on the first slide.

SwordGuy

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2015, 06:32:23 PM »
Nice work!