Author Topic: F*&% DEBT!  (Read 7153 times)

bigalsmith101

• Pencil Stache
  • Yes, that's really my face.
    • No Jobs, No Responsibilities, No Better Time then Now
F*&% DEBT!
« on: February 26, 2016, 03:51:01 PM »
My debt in particular consisted of two student loans. One for me, and one for wifey. We both borrowed the same amount, at $15k. Mine was unsubsidized, thus when I graduated college, I owed $16,600. Wifey's loan was subsidized, thus when she graduated, she owed $15k.

I graduated in June 2010, she graduated in June of 2012. Fast forward to Jan of 2015, and we've spent a year abroad and traveled extensively otherwise, and got married. All while dutifully paying the "payment due" each month, while the loan companies secured $1k/year+ from each of our loans in interested payments.

January 2015 brought us good fortune in the way of a valuable contract that allowed us the capacity to decide to assassinate my student loan. It was at $11,600, and in one fell swoop we eliminated it.

Next on the block was wifey's debt. Just three weeks ago she mentioned her student loan payment was due. (It's on an automatic schedule). I immediately got angry! F*&% DEBT!

"WIFEY!" I yelled, "What is your log in info for your student loan account, I'm going to murder this debt!"

"Yaaaayyy!" She cheered!

And thus that day I paid down $2,000 against the loan. 10 days later, and I paid down another $2,400. Then this morning, another $2,000. Then, just this minute, another $1k. BECAUSE I HATE DEBT!

There is just $3.6k left, but it will be gone by the end of next month. Hell, it might be gone in the next 2 weeks! We have a larger than necessary cash cushion between our different bank accounts, earning us nearly 0% interest, doing us no good. Our jobs are stable, we don't need the cash money, and I'm tired of debt.

DEBT FREE HERE WE COME!!!

DEBT = SLAVERY.

Ergo

F*&% DEBT!
« Last Edit: February 26, 2016, 03:55:44 PM by bigalsmith101 »

GrowingTheGreen

• Bristles