Author Topic: downsizing has commenced  (Read 3549 times)

Uturn

• Pencil Stache
downsizing has commenced
« on: September 29, 2017, 01:54:11 PM »
In 2012, I bought a tent trailer.  Not a pop up, one of those utility trailers that has a tent attachment.  40 second video for those who want to see one.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XZ2S5TIm1U

I also bought a 2009 Dodge Ram to pull and my camping gear, and also lumber runs because I am a woodworker.
About that time, Dad bought a zero turn mower for his 6 acres and gave me his old Kabota riding mower so that I could move the 700lbs trailer to my backyard for storage.  It's uphill and I cannot move it without some sort of power, but it is too narrow of a passage for the truck.

In 2014 I bought a new Nissan Altima for my 1hr each way commute.  Dad passed in 2015, and I inherited his 08 Ram, and sold my 09.

I found MMM a few months before Dad died.  I sold off some things that I wasn't using, but kept the car and truck because they each served different purposes and they are paid for.  But it has been bugging me for about a year.  I have to maintain 3 motors, the truck only gets about 3k miles a year put on it.  All of this because I have too much tent and do have a need to carry stuff that won't fit in an Altima.  I really don't need all of the camping gear, but take it only because I have a trailer to carry it.  The extra gear is nice if I'm going out with others that don't have gear, but that doesn't happen often.

Here's the plan.

Get rid of the trailer.  - Done
Get rid of the truck and garden tractor - going on CL next week
Find a smaller trailer that I don't need extra equipment to move.  This smaller trailer will be for items that don't fit inside of a vehicle.
Leverage my BIL's dealer license and auction expertise to find a used Forrester at wholesale price
Sell Altima