Author Topic: Can Fluffy Get A Job, Too?  (Read 2262 times)

Nurse_Nash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Can Fluffy Get A Job, Too?
« on: January 18, 2018, 09:16:14 AM »
I’ve always had a dog my entire adult life. Since the day I turned 18, I adopted from a local shelter, the most adorable approximately 3 year brown sack of useless fluff and our relationship is over a decade strong. And I wouldn't trade him for the world. 

Say hello to Buddy AKA "Butters"...Yet for a 15 year old dog, he still refuses to get a job and lives comfortably the FIRE’d life.

Biggest free loader in the household to date. We’ve even failed therapy school twice (Nursing homes/ Children). Hilarity entails the SO and I rock-paper-scissors who becomes the Heathen’s on-call shit-picker-upper of the day when it’s -5 degrees outside and blowing winter hell.

I work as a Specialty Veterinary Technician (Emergency and Critical Care) and have for years. Now, I’m  part-time working while attending Nursing School full time, but my responsibilities still come despite my meager income and Pants-on-Fire Crisis. With working within the career comes discounted 50%  perks. Here’s my geriatric dog’s most recent expenditures.

Exam – Free (original $162)
Senior Blood Work / Thyroid / Heartworm Screening / Urinalysis - $285 (discounted to $142.5)
Radiographs (Chest and Abdomen) - $300 (Discounted to $150)
Cardiology Consult for a weird cough – FREE (saved $587)
Nail Trim – Free (saved $28)
Antibiotics - $87 (Discounted to $35)
Total Vet Bill: Without Savings: $1450.  Paid:$327
Health status: Healthy with Low grade laryngeal paralysis (common in labs)

Maintenance:
New Bag of Food - $35 for 18 lbs Dry every 3-4 weeks (ordered discounted from Chewy.com) Doesn't include homecooked treats.
Bath every 4-6 weeks - Free ( I do it myself )
Doesn’t play with toys, chew furniture. Winning
Walks Daily 2-6 miles weather pending. Keeps healthy. Time cost.