Author Topic: vacation home as investment property  (Read 1472 times)

sbaTexas

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
vacation home as investment property
« on: November 14, 2017, 04:44:05 PM »
we are looking into buying a vacation home in either Colorado or somewhere along 30A in florida.  We own a few rental properties here in texas, so I have about 7 years experience in the rental game.  We realistically would only make it out there a few times a year, and would hope to rent it the rest of the time through a property manager.  Does anyone here do this?  Any advice on a situation like this?  Do people actually make money doing this or would it be more of a break even situation?  any thoughts would be appreciated, thanks!

FINate

• Magnum Stache
Re: vacation home as investment property
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2017, 05:07:54 PM »
My in-laws had a vacation home for a number of years. They lost money on it. In mountain towns summer and winter are the high season. Fall and spring are meh. Unless it's a spectacular rental (lakefront, etc.) then most rentals will be weekend, the week between Christmas and New Year, and the week  of Fourth of July. Fall and spring are pretty low demand (including weekends) and even mid week in the high season can be hit or miss. There simply were not enough days rented to make expenses. Now, they owned in a HCOL area (South Lake Tahoe), so they had a big nut to crack to reach profitability. Maybe a LCOL area (lower rents, but also lower costs) might pencil out? I don't know. My take away from being close to the details was that vacation rentals are not a good investment, are essentially an expensive pre-paid vacation...better to rent than own, and then not locked into a single area.

Keep in mind that unless you're retired or have unusual flexibility then you're going to want to use it at the times that renting it is most profitable (weekends, holidays).