Author Topic: Tree removal  (Read 4059 times)

chasesfish

• Magnum Stache
Tree removal
« on: October 06, 2013, 11:28:42 AM »
Has anyone had experience with hiring a company to remove trees? I have to have up to 14 taken down, all within 35 feet of my house.  Its getting too dense and I've had two fall in the last three years, which have fortunately missed my house.

feelingroovy

• Bristles
Re: Tree removal
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2013, 11:52:30 AM »
Yes, I have.  It's very fun to watch.  What do you want to know about it?

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2013, 12:24:49 PM »
Hire a professional, with good insurance.  This is seriously dangerous work.

swiper

• Bristles
  • swiping
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2013, 12:30:02 PM »
I have some personal experience in this area. I've taken down ~10 60 foot ash trees over the last two years. I've also hired professionals to do trees around power lines and ones leaning into the house.

For ones that I did myself, I used car tow straps and hand winches to pull the tree into a particular fall zone before actually cutting the base.

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2013, 12:35:30 PM »
Yes, several times. At my own house, had to have an old tree that broke and narrowly missed part of our house. Tree was about 100 ft tall,  VERY close to the house around 4-5 foot circumference and we had the stump ground out. Was just under $500 in a big city area and this was about 5 years ago.

Had trees removed at my childhood home in a small town this year. Something like 10 smaller trees and three trees well over 60-100 feet tall with large trunks, also ground down. Cost was around $1,800 for all.

Both companies hauled off all debris and having the stumps ground down allows you to replant in the area within a year (the root system will decompose fast).