Author Topic: Student looking to buy first house, please give me tips (northern BC)  (Read 2330 times)

Healthie

• Stubble
Hi everyone,

looking for some feedback on my situation. I recently moved to Prince George in Northern BC (~8 hours Northeast of Vancouver) and I want to buy a house. I have about $95k liquid, I'm 26 and I'm a full time student for the next 4 years. I intend on working full time over the summers. Houses range from 200-260k up here. In the winters it can get to -30 degrees celsius out.

I'd like to find property with some rental value; ideally I'd be living upstairs with roommates and have a separate basement suite to rent out, or at least, a basement that is capable to turn into a rental suite (i.e., already has a bathroom, is possible to install a kitchen). Ideally I would keep the house as a rental unit, if not my own home, after I finish my degree.

I have a gang of questions:
How do I go about finding a house like this?  Real estate agent, mortgage broker, etc?
what qualities should I be looking for in the house? In addition, what qualities in the location, etc., should I be looking for to attract good tenants?
What renovations would you say are feasible for someone with little experience? I have built fences before. I have a fairly light semester in the Spring and could put time into renovating.
Anything else, really, for a first time home buyer. Online articles, that kind of thing would be great, too.

Cwadda

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Student looking to buy first house, please give me tips (northern BC)
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2017, 08:51:29 AM »
How do I go about finding a house like this?  Real estate agent, mortgage broker, etc?