Author Topic: Stay or sell advice request  (Read 1355 times)

incremus

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Stay or sell advice request
« on: June 08, 2018, 10:30:41 AM »
Hello,
I am new to the journey to financial Independence and am hoping to get some good advice regarding selling my house. My wife and I bought a foreclosed house in a booming historic district at the bottom of the market about 6 years ago. We had very little money saved between us at the time and a small mountain of debts. We had only 5% to put down, but we loved the house and especially its prime location - walking distance to both of our jobs and schools for our kids, a large yard, and terrific neighbors. Since then, we have paid off all of our debts except the house. The interest rate on the mortgage is 3.75%. I'm 34, my wife is 32, and we have two kids, both younger than school age. I work a white collar job with a steady salary and my wife works from home part time while staying home with the kids.

Home prices in the area have doubled since we bought and we have had several unsolicited offers recently. We realized we could now sell this house and make enough profit to buy another with cash. Obviously such a house would not be in as prime a location and would lack the improvements we've made to ours, but the idea of not having a mortgage payment is very appealing. We would try to stay within biking distance of my office. We don't want to spend more on the new house than we'd make in profit on the sale of our home.

Again, I'm new to this and would greatly appreciate the community's input. My question is which strategy of these makes the most financial sense:
   1. Continue to live in the nice big house and focus on paying the mortgage off as soon as possible (with frugality and some good luck, this will take us 5 to 6 more years).
      a. Do this by paying as much extra principal each month as possible