Author Topic: Need some advice/opinions/perspective on buying Southern California real estate.  (Read 1459 times)

droh82

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hey all,

I am new to real estate game but have always wanted to try it out. Lately, I've been going back and forth on if I should invest in rental properties in Southern Cali or not as I live here. I can't seem to make up my mind and its driving me crazy so I'm looking for feedback to help me finally decide....sometimes I can be so indecisive that I hate it.

Ideally, I wanted to buy a triplex (Duplex/Quadplex would be ok too) similar to what I'm living in right now so I can live in one and rent out the others to cover my rent but the prices here are ridiculous that I wouldn't be able to get anywhere near the 1% rule. If I did end up jumping into RE, my goal would be to buy and hold rental property for the long term (30+ years) as I ultimately am only interested in the cash flow but would have to put down a large down payment to be cash flow positive. I mean I dont mind if I dont meet the 1% rule as long as I can cash flow.

The other issue is that since I need to put down a large down payment, I would have to drop my 401K contributions down to employer match of 6% so I can build enough capital to buy a property. I currently contribute 50% of paycheck to 401K, most my employer would allow. I was thinking about dropping my contributions down to 6% and the money I get from the paychecks, I would immediately invest into my taxable account (probably VTI) and max out my Roth IRA until I have enough money for a downpayment.

I'm ok with doing this but based on my situation would this be a ok move? Or would it be better to just continue maxing out 401k/HSA/Roth/taxable?

Could mustashians chime in and give me some advice?? constructive criticism??experience, different perspective?? anything... open me to other options...

A little about me...
I'm 35, single living in southern cali and making about 100k/year