Author Topic: LLC  (Read 17249 times)

salmp01

• Stubble
LLC
« on: February 14, 2012, 08:04:24 AM »
In the last few years I started buying rental properties (up to 17 now).  Three of these properties are in an LLC (self directed IRA) but the remaining are in my personal name.  I have talked casually to a couple attorney friends and they insist that I should put all of these in several LLCs.   I have a 3 million dollar liability policy and have always thought that this should cover me if get sued.  I have not met with an attorney to look over what I have and am wondering if the money spent would/could be worth it.    Since I’m relatively new at this I’d like to hear any advice on this topic.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: LLC
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2012, 08:19:09 AM »
I've read arguments both ways.

LLCs versus an umbrella policy really are the two main ways to protect yourself. Since you have one of them set up, I wouldn't stress too much about it. I do like the LLC for tax purposes.

What you hit that number properties, it might be prudent to transfer them over into LLCs based on the equity amount in each property.

A lawyer is going to tell you to set up something like an LLC because that's his area of expertise and that's what he believes in. An insurance salesman will have you set up an umbrella policy for the same reason.  I feel a mixture of the two is best, but you really will hear opinions on both sides and I don't necessarily agree that one is vastly superior to the other, or there wouldn't be debate about it.

Also, good for you!
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

salmp01

• Stubble