Author Topic: Is the 1% rule ever coming back?  (Read 21280 times)

Jon Bon

• Handlebar Stache
Is the 1% rule ever coming back?
« on: February 23, 2019, 11:20:42 AM »
And did it hold up during the last property bubble?

I have been investing for about 6-8 years now, and  I am VERY in-tune to my local rental situation. A and B neighborhoods have not been selling anywhere close to the 1% for years now. I am starting to see the C neighborhood (with very little chance at appreciation) drop below the 1% rule. Now I realize that some of the completely batshit insane real estate markets (SF, Seattle NYC, etc) the 1% rule might no longer hold true. I am starting to see a departure from the rule in my own city. There was a portfolio of rentals I just saw posted they averaged about between 1/2 and 3/4 percent. That is terrible! Not to mention you are going to get absolutely murdered on property taxes when you pay that kind of money for a house.

Is this what happened in 2002-2007?  I was still in college and not really paying attention to the RE ratios then. Is RE just not worth it to invest in these days? Do I just have to dump it in a very expensive stock market and hope for the best?

TLDR

RE is expensive and it sucks.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
Re: Is the 1% rule ever coming back?
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2019, 01:38:11 PM »
The answer is to dump new cash into whatever asset class is on sale when you get the cash in hand.  If no asset class is on sale, the choices are to hoard cash for the next sale, pay off debt, or throw money at paper assets you won't need for decades.  I have not purchased a property since 2012.  I continue to fund the same periodic stock fund purchases I have made since then, pay off mortgage debt, and hoard cash.  You are young, so you will likely have several more fire sale buying opportunities in your lifetime.  Plan for them.