Author Topic: Investing in property off of cryptocurrency  (Read 1608 times)

nrho

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investing in property off of cryptocurrency
« on: January 24, 2018, 07:25:23 AM »
I am a 20 y/o college student who now has a ~110k net worth because of cryptocurrency, scholarships, and a job. I am interested in purchasing an apartment to live in for the remainder of my college years and to rent out after I leave.

1) Is it even realistic for me to get financing for a property?

2) Did you invest in property around my age? Do you recommend it? Regret it?

PoutineLover

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Investing in property off of cryptocurrency
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2018, 08:27:19 AM »
Have you sold the crypto? As far as I know you can't get a mortgage in bitcoin.
Have you talked to a bank about financing?
If you do buy a property, how much can you put down and can you afford the monthly payments?
Can you afford maintenance and taxes on the property?
Do you have any student loans (and do you expect to need any)?
What's your earning potential in your degree, and do you plan to live in the same area after you graduate?
How much could you rent the apartment for and would you have roommates?
There's not enough info in your post to give an informed opinion either way, but those are just some things to think about before making a decision.

waltworks

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2018, 12:49:54 PM »
You probably can't qualify for any form of financing without a cosigner (parent, probably) simply because you have no income (right?) or else very low income.

Here's what I would do:
-Step 1: Sell all the crypto. You will need to pay capital gains taxes, remember, so you'll end up with quite a bit less than the $110k they are nominally worth.
-Step 2: Max Roth IRA for 2017 and 2018. Use a way-out (2050?) target date fund from Vanguard.
-Step 3: Dump the rest into a taxable account and invest in the same target date fund as you did for the IRA.