Author Topic: How to buy a home in NYC (for my specific circumstances and goals)? Or should I?  (Read 2578 times)

5oclockshadowmustacheNYC

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hopefully this is the right forum for this.  Hi there, folks!  I'm a programmer in NYC, currently living in Astoria, who is fortunate enough to work from home.  My job is pretty damn comfortable, but it's not my dream job.  If I could do anything for a living, it would be to make video games.  Up until I discovered MMM about a month ago (I've been reading from the beginning, and I'm up to February 2014 now), the plan was to save up about two years' worth of living expenses into a bank account, quit my job, and pump out one or two indie games.  Though I have always lived below my means (the idea of living paycheck to paycheck was always terrifying to me), the math for early retirement was never laid out to me as it was in this blog.  It never occurred to me that early retirement was even an option!  Now that I know it is, I immediately identified about $300 of monthly spending that I have now cut out of my life, and I still have more room to trim that down.  The goal at this point is to make games on the side, with what time I have, and shoot for early retirement so that I can make games full-time without having to worry about where money is coming from.  I was hoping to find out if buying a home is right for me long-term, given that I like living in NYC and so does my girlfriend.

My basic finances are as follows:

• $100k salary with up to 10% performance bonus at year's end (last year they paid 9.9%, so they're sticking to their word)
  • about $4800 take-home per month after 401k (contributing 5% to get the employer match), HSA, and other benefits/taxes
  • $25k in Vanguard; 90% VFIAX and 10% VBISX.  All extra money is going here every month, which is approximately 50% of my take-home, or $2400.
  • $61k in 401k