Author Topic: Evaluating a Rental Property  (Read 121764 times)

iamlindoro

• Handlebar Stache
    • The Earth Awaits
Evaluating a Rental Property
« on: May 19, 2015, 05:47:50 PM »
I am still learning, just like everyone else.  Relative to several of the veteran landlords here, I am a rank amateur.  However, I've done a few deals now, made a few mistakes, and hopefully learned something from them.  I have a few cash flowing properties, and each has been more successful than the last as I raise my standards, learn how to anticipate some of the trouble areas, and most of all, have greater confidence in my ability to oversee all aspects of a deal.  I figured I would share how I am currently evaluating deals and it may help some people.  Discussion of my analysis may also help me to learn some things and get even better outcomes in the future.

On this forum, we frequently get questions about whether or not a given property is a "good rental."  Though this is a highly subjective question, many rentals people consider are virtually guaranteed losers.  This is usually because people fail to consider all the possible costs of buying and owning a rental, and/or because they are overly optimistic about vacancies, repairs, etc.

And now for some assumptions:  My own real estate investment strategy is buy and hold for cash flow.  The goal is to build a steady stream of income that compliments the safe withdrawal rate from my stock and bond portfolio.  Thus, my analysis makes bottom-line cash ROI the most important factor versus appreciation.  That is not to say that quality of neighborhood, tenant, and prospects for the city aren't just as important-- they're just things that I consider before I ever get to evaluating the raw numbers.  I'm a California resident and have found that the best deals in my price range are out of state, even after accounting for property management.