Author Topic: Consulting LLC and Buying First Rental  (Read 1221 times)

seanheinle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Consulting LLC and Buying First Rental
« on: September 11, 2017, 06:59:01 AM »
I've been looking for a rental property for 12+ months and think I've finally found a great property.  I'm self employed and trying to navigate my options to maximize tax deductions and protect my assets.

As my main source of income, I do IT consulting through a single member LLC.  I'm considering filing as an S-Corp for the SE tax savings.  A salary of $90k should save me $4,360.50 in taxes (.153 * (118,000 - 90,000)).  The reasonable salary is difficult to assess.  If I was a full time employee, $90k would be a reasonable salary.  However, since I'm a consultant, I'm able to charge a much higher rate.  Is it still reasonable to claim a salary of $90k?

The rental property will be purchased by the LLC with cash at $55,000 assuming another $20,000 in repairs.  The cash will come from an HLOC to give flexibility.  After the repairs are done, I'll take a mortgage out on the property to pay off the HLOC.

Taxing savings will include: Deduction of $20k in repairs to get it ready to rent, $4.3k to S Corp filing, Interest on loan, Cost to close

I'd really like to do this myself.  Not so much to avoid the cost of a CPA.  I just like learning how to do this so I can re-use it down the road.

What am I missing here?  I'm sure a lot.  I've done quite a bit of research and this is where I'm at.  Hoping to get some pointed feedback so I can go back to the drawing board and finalize my strategy.

SeattleCPA

• Handlebar Stache
    • Evergreen Small Business
Re: Consulting LLC and Buying First Rental
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2017, 07:11:24 AM »
You mind find these IRS statistics on S corporation salaries useful:

http://www.scorporationsexplained.com/average-s-corporation-salaries.htm

You might also find this generic advice useful: