Author Topic: Buying: If less than 20% down payment, how much less?  (Read 1269 times)

put me in coach

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Buying: If less than 20% down payment, how much less?
« on: February 14, 2019, 02:41:59 PM »
Hello,

This is my first time buying a house.

SO+my income=$140k

Debt=$30k in student loans

Credit=Excellent

Cost of living=VERY high (Bay Area)

$ for DP=$60k (leaves us with $ for closing costs and ~$10k stash for emergencies/repairs)

Handy man skills=not great

Using the rent vs buy calculator (New York Times), the verdict is buy despite HCOL.

Cheapest home prices for what we need=$500k-600k

I talked to a lender for the first time yesterday. He was encouraging us to put 3.5-5% down contending that would only cost us $50-60 more per month on our payment than if we put 10% down (all we can afford). After 2 years or so as the value of the home increases (presumption) and as we paid off the mortgage, we could likely refinance in order to remove PMI when our LTV would be <80%. I presume that would be at a greater interest rate, right?). He argues that having the extra $30-40k in cash is better than having a lower monthly payment.

1. His advice doesn't sound very mustachian. Am i correct?

2. But neither is my notion (admittedly) to buy a house with <10% dp. Should I give up on buying a house for now? We are paying low rent right now, but will need to upsize with a baby likely on the way sometime this year. (Renting a bigger place would cost us ~40% more than our current rent.) It's not possible to stay in the same place. We'd be okay with renting out a room in a new house. Our idea is to rent out the room, hustle to pay off the mortgage until we don't have PMI.