Author Topic: Advice please  (Read 1030 times)

elvis

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice please
« on: February 10, 2018, 09:57:06 AM »
I have a somewhat unusual rental situation. I purchased a home in a historic neighborhood that came with a second home on the same lot. This smaller home was appraised at $0, and essentially came with the house at no cost. It has separate utilities and address. The second home has been a rental for the past 100 years (literally), and is in pretty worn shape. It currently rents for $450. Given the neighborhood, I could rent it  for $800-900, but would need to spend roughly $50,000 to rehab the property. I'm new to rentals, and am wondering how to think through this issue--whether it's worth fixing up or leaving as is. Aesthetics are involved here, too--the house is in my backyard. Thanks for your input.

accolay

• Pencil Stache
Re: Advice please
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2018, 02:59:20 AM »
I got nothing. Posting to follow. Just wondering what you mean by "pretty worn"? What kind of work does it need?

former player

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2018, 04:40:30 AM »
Would the house you bought have cost less without this secondary rental?  If so, then it's not really $0, whatever the appraisal says.  On the other hand, if you would have bought the main house at the price you paid even without the rental, I suppose it might as well be $0.

Without putting a price on what you paid, the rental more than meets the 1% rule whether you rehab or not.  I'd be looking at the following things -

1.  What work is needed to keep the rental in sound structural condition?  This is mostly about making sure that plumbing and electrics are in sound condition inside and the outside has a sound roof, clean and functioning gutters, paint or other protective coating on windows and outside walls as necessary and that wildlife and plantlife is not invading.  As a minimum you need to do all this in any case.