Author Topic: Purchasing Hearing Aids  (Read 7068 times)

Noodle

• Handlebar Stache
Purchasing Hearing Aids
« on: June 17, 2017, 11:14:57 AM »
I am currently in the process of acquiring hearing aids and discovering that they are basically Mustachian kryptonite...insanely expensive, hard to research, difficult to DIY :). On the other hand, it is absolutely mindblowing what can be done with current technology--thank you smartphones for advances in miniaturizing digital audio!

One of the challenges I had was that the market for hearing aids seems to mostly be either children who have worn aids all their lives, or senior citizens with age-related losses. It was very difficult to find information that was helpful to a working adult. (I have a great audiologist but of course did not get her expertise until fairly late in the process.) Although I am just a beginner at using an aid, I am happy to help anyone who may find themselves in the same situation and I'm sure we have other hearing aid users/family members on the boards.

One recommendation I do have--even if an insurance plan (like most of them) doesn't cover hearing aids, check to see if they offer a discount purchase plan. I was skeptical at first, but ended up using one and it saved me quite a bit of money on both the aids and the batteries, and had better terms than the audiologist's standard contract in terms of returns, trial periods, etc.

Pigeon

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Purchasing Hearing Aids
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2017, 04:05:17 PM »
Posting to follow.  I need them, but having done a little preliminary research, I'm blown away at how expensive they seem and how dissatisfied everyone I know who has them seems to be with them.  I just keep putting it off, but I should start getting serious about them

Noodle

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2017, 11:02:54 PM »