Author Topic: Need recs on electric lawnmower and trimmer  (Read 3806 times)

Rogue Dad, M.D.

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Rogue Dad, M.D.
Need recs on electric lawnmower and trimmer
« on: March 20, 2018, 03:02:35 PM »
Hi all

I'm considering taking the money I pay a lawn service and investing in an electric mower and trimmer -- fully battery powered, no cords.

I have about 1/3 of an acre -- part of the backyard is a hill, so something that doesn't weigh a ton would be great for going up/down it.

What are people's thoughts on whether the current products out there are adequate for the job, battery life, and recommended products?  I probably spent close to $1000 on a lawn service last year, so I figure I can spend way less than that for my own equipment and save money fairly quickly doing it on my own.

To add -- I'm a relative newbie when it comes to mowing lawns.  My previous house was a small home in a city with a super tiny lot that I could use a pure manual push mower (complete old school).  I have zero experience with gas or other types of mowers.  I left that behind for the next owner to use in the yard.  The owner of this home left behind a gas mower that I haven't tried out yet but which is fairly old and supposedly works. 

But I'd rather donate it to charity and go electric and not bother with the maintenance and hassle of a gas mower.  Though the more experienced of you out there may think that's backwards -- let me know.

My oldest kid is 9 -- what's the right age to start having a kid safely mow a lawn from your all perspective?  I was thinking another couple years, but am curious what others do.  I am a pediatric ER doctor so get paranoid about kids around lawnmowers -- I've seen some nasty injuries, and am generally risk averse when it comes to kids being around sharp objects.

Richie Poor

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Need recs on electric lawnmower and trimmer
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2018, 03:28:41 PM »