Author Topic: My Experience Refinancing Student Loans with Sofi  (Read 135557 times)

djballer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: My Experience Refinancing Student Loans with Sofi
« Reply #100 on: July 07, 2016, 10:58:22 PM »
My experience with DRB

I graduated in May 2015 and started working in August. I had about $215k in total loans with an average of 5.8%. This included a mix of federal and private loans. I applied to both SOFI and DRB. SOFI offered me 4.99% fixed for 5 years and ~3.6 variable rate, while DRB offered a variable rate of 3.22% and 4.5% fixed for 10 years. I went with DRB's variable rate, which is based on the 3 month Libor. I refinanced 171k in December. My credit score when i refinanced was 812. Even though my rate is considerably low, I am always on the lookout for lower rates. First Republic Bank has the best rates out there. If you are local to one of their branches, definitely look into it. They offer fixed rates as low as 1.95%. My current variable rate is 3.61. The 3 month LIBOR rate as been going up since i refinanced. I will probably try to refinance again once I make a significant balance on the amount owed.

I recommend applying to multiple lenders at the same time and the going with the lender with the better term.

July 2018 edit: refinanced with LendKey and now have a fixed rate of 3.15%. See my referral links below.

referral links

LendKey
https://mbsy.co/lendkey/Dimeji

Earnest
https://www.earnest.com/invite/dimeji

SOFI
https://www.sofi.com/share/827076

CommonBond
https://commonbond.co/?referrer=5a0422c5238f5c4e0984f2f40d2d4f58&referred
« Last Edit: July 10, 2018, 11:10:14 AM by djballer »

dtodas2000

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #101 on: January 30, 2017, 01:58:13 PM »