Author Topic: Free US tax filing for income under $57,000 income  (Read 9150 times)

sheepstache

• Handlebar Stache
Free US tax filing for income under $57,000 income
« on: January 18, 2013, 08:42:55 AM »
For the past couple years I've gone to http://www.thebeehive.org/money/pay-taxes/file-your-taxes-free-online which gives you free online tax filing through H&R block, inc efile for fed and state, if your earned income is less than $57,000.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Free US tax filing for income under $57,000 income
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2013, 09:37:31 AM »
Thanks for the heads up, got a few people to pass this along to!
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

rugorak

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2013, 10:03:08 AM »
http://www.irs.gov/uac/Free-File%3A-Do-Your-Federal-Taxes-for-Free

Lots of companies offer this. So if you don't like H&R there are plenty of other options.

smalllife

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2013, 10:08:10 AM »
The IRS sponsors several programs for low income and elderly people to help file their taxes

http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/Free-Tax-Return-Preparation-for-You-by-Volunteers

VITA (51K or less)
TCE (60 years or older)

Ironically I'm going to volunteer with them even though I qualify for assistance.  This would be useful for those who want in person help.

sheepstache

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2013, 12:32:24 PM »
http://www.irs.gov/uac/Free-File%3A-Do-Your-Federal-Taxes-for-Free

Lots of companies offer this. So if you don't like H&R there are plenty of other options.