Author Topic: Biking in the rain  (Read 3751 times)

El Gringo

• Bristles
Biking in the rain
« on: January 27, 2015, 02:49:33 PM »
I've been biking to work for four years now and I've never had any rain-appropriate attire, but I'm thinking of finally getting some (mainly because I'm moving to a new place that doesn't have quite as good public transit access to use when it's pouring down rain). What do people recommend in terms of pants, jacket, and bag that are water-proof but not ridiculously expensive?

fodder69

• Stubble
Re: Biking in the rain
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2015, 03:00:30 PM »
No particular suggestions, but I will say that I recommend non-bike clothing for rain gear. Bike clothing always "breathes" which means you get wet which I always thought defeated the purpose. It will keep you warmer so I use it when I train (for bike racing) but general commuting it's not as good. You do have to watch the sweating of course (ride easy when you can, unzip). It should have a flap on the back that can breath (as long as you aren't wearing a backpack). Non bike clothing opens up other cheaper options as well.

The other thought is just to accept you will get wet and just focus on being warm which is easier.

jaye_p

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2015, 10:46:21 AM »
^^Seconded re non-dedicated gear.  When I bike in the rain, I wear waterproof hiking pants and a lightweight waterproof hiking jacket with pit zips (helps with the sweating).  For bags, I use two panniers that are made from recycled billboards.  Capacious, waterproof, and just about bombproof - and also rather attractive.

DagobertDuck

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2015, 03:48:34 AM »
I just purchased a pair of Rainlegs (www.rainlegs.com)

They only cover your upper legs, so they work best on a bike with fenders (like a Dutch bicycle)

They won't keep you a 100% dry but they do keep your upper legs dry and warm, while not being sweaty because the rear side is open.