Author Topic: Best Value for Used DSLR Camera?  (Read 4742 times)

TFrugal

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Best Value for Used DSLR Camera?
« on: November 18, 2017, 10:07:27 AM »
Hi All,

I'm hoping to get my wife a gift of one of these cameras in the next few months.  We are both (but mostly her) looking to get into photography as a hobby - we are also looking to use for pictures of our kids (which would be moving shots), nature, etc.  We are not starting a photography business and do not need the latest, greatest, etc.  Mainly we use blown up pictures as gifts, use in our home, etc.  As of now, our current camera is pretty old and cheap and any blown up pictures are not close to the quality we are looking for.

As I am very new to this hobby, any beginner DSLR recommendations?  I assume now would be a good time to buy it being near BF and everything.  Used would be a must.  Any model recommendations or any thoughts on other "gear" needed?  A direct link to any nice, used cameras on Amazon would be appreciated :)  Thank you!

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
Re: Best Value for Used DSLR Camera?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2017, 10:46:59 AM »
oh man... it would be hard to come up with another questions where the responses will be as varied and ultimately boil down to "it depends".  It's also the sort of question where photo enthusiasts will fight with one another to the grave.

Well, here goes: