Author Topic: Withdrawing / Rebalancing Investments: Oh the Agony and analysis paralysis, LOL!  (Read 2829 times)

FrugalZony

• Handlebar Stache
I am in my second year of FIRE (Fired in August 2016).
In the accumulation phase I was in 90% stocks, a bit of cash and about 8% bonds.
Using the last few paychecks leading up to FIRE, I tried to get as close to my target allocation of 70% stocks / 25% bonds / 5% cash as possible and then did one final balancing act to get there before I fired.

I had a full year of living expenses plus a small efund in my bank account and the rest of the cash in Vanguard VMMX
The goal was to always have 3 years worth of expenses in easily accesible cash equivalents between those two accounts.

Planned SWR was 3-3.5%

I don't have any side hustle or other money coming in, so I fully rely on the portfolio.
(The little bit I make from piggybacking gets donated right away.)

So there really is no incoming cash flow other than dividends from Vanguard, that hit the VMMX.
Once those are deposited, the idea was to sell a little at a time to maintain the 3x expenses plus efund buffer.
Great plan, right?!

After the first year of FIRE, I was right at my planned WR (3-3.5%) using the money in the bank account and I did not feel the need to rebalance, as I was still very close to the target AA.

We recently had a bigger repair, so I needed to use most of the efund as well, which is ok, that's what it's for.

But now for the first time I actually had to replenish my cash buffer from the investment account over to the regular checking acount
AND
at the same time I had to rebalance from stocks to replenish the cash equivalents in the investment accounts.

It's really straight forward, that's what planning, asset allocation etc. are for. The funds are there, it's REALLY NO BIG DEAL!

But boy was it a tough mental hurdle to get over.