Author Topic: What would it take for you to go back to work?  (Read 8876 times)

LAGuy

• Bristles
What would it take for you to go back to work?
« on: April 19, 2018, 06:39:54 PM »
I'm assuming the answer is "money" since nobody on this forum "loves" their job. I know the gut answer for a lot of people is going to be to say "nothing can convince me to go back", but surely we all have our price?

The reason I ask is that I've been turning this question over in my mind recently. First, some background. In the end of 2016 I did a partial retirement thing. I work in hospital laboratories - a Med Tech or Clinical Scientist is the official term, but most people outside of healthcare won't have heard of it. I do contract work, like a traveling nurse. The pay is similar, but not quite as good as a nurse. I work half the year, travel the world half the year. Right now, I'm in my 2nd year of this rotation and about 1/3rd of the way through the work part of things. I've got about $750k invested and I'm sure I could cut loose and retire for good with my low expenses as a single nomad, but...well it's not exactly "big" money right? And for me OMY is only 6 months.