Author Topic: What does having FI feel like?  (Read 109607 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: What does having FI feel like?
« Reply #200 on: January 09, 2016, 02:04:28 AM »
No TV... No Simpsons - ever.

My heart goes out to you.

I would definitely consider a GoFundMe to buy you the Simpsons DVDs a worthy charity, on part with saving the environment and starving children.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

deborah

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #201 on: January 09, 2016, 02:48:54 AM »

I would definitely consider a GoFundMe to buy you the Simpsons DVDs a worthy charity, on part with saving the environment and starving children.

I guess the DVDs might make good bird scarers... Nup, Australian birds are the most intelligent in the world. They would just ignore them. Or chew them. Or use them as a swing.

brooklynguy

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #202 on: January 09, 2016, 06:29:16 AM »
Sorry, deb, but the cromulence of rebs' assertion is beyond dispute.

Mr. Green

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #203 on: January 09, 2016, 07:37:21 AM »
Why would they make a TV show out of 30 rocks? :P

BPA

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #204 on: January 09, 2016, 09:35:38 AM »
Time and circumstance will determine if I am FURE or FIRE, but I agree that I would rather pull the plug sooner rather than later.  Inflation or a market crash could send me back to work, but I'm okay with that.  I won't return to my former high-paying field.  I can work part-time for minimum wage and cover my expenses if necessary.