Author Topic: Pickleball  (Read 4751 times)

fidreamer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Pickleball
« on: October 10, 2017, 11:37:23 AM »
So I left my job in June (46 y.o.), and this fall I started playing pickleball 2x/week with some of retired folks at the local rec center.  The second time I played I pulled some kind of muscle and had to hobble off the court which was pretty embarrassing.   However, since then I have had so much fun playing!  It's a great workout, and I have met some really nice people.  I can't believe I get to do this instead of going to work.  Life is good.

SnackDog

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Pickleball
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2017, 11:43:32 AM »
Some people claim it is the fastest growing sport in the US, so I guess we can all look forward to spending our golden years on the court.  I played a while back with a 90 year old lady who was fierce.

Papa bear

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2017, 11:50:05 AM »
I've played it in a 55+ community in Florida. Great time. My brother and I paired up on a team for a tournament, we're both early 30's and my brother is a hell of an athlete and tennis player. 

We did pretty well, mainly because we were much younger.  Then we got up to some 70+ YO guys that played a lot. And were former pro athletes in their youth.  They frustrated the hell out of us. Grandpas beating us in sports?? Wtf!  Frustrated us beyond belief.

Super fun game though.  I'm starting to see it in a lot more places up north. 

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

fidreamer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2017, 04:19:43 PM »
Great retirement game.  I hope it is moving north because that's where I am.  Need more courts. ; )

Melf

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2017, 07:00:00 PM »