Author Topic: Letting would be employer know you wont be going the extra mile?  (Read 6772 times)

Seadog

• Bristles
I'm semi retired I guess, but after 2 years got bored and got a job, sounded interesting on paper, but ended up being away from home 80%+ of the time, and days extending into 16 hours as the companies finances worsened and they tried to take advantage of a "day rate" which they figured allowed for unlimited hours for the same money. I pushed back, and eventually got the point where I was tired of fighting and quit.

I'm potentially open to working again, but I want to avoid a repeat of that. It's not that I even mind necessarily doing that once in a while, but some employers out there are eager to just take full advantage.

I'm an engineer along side many others here, and I find this expectation to "go above and beyond", "do what it takes", "go the extra mile" or comparable bullshit are part and parcel to professional level jobs.

How exactly do you let a would be employer know that you wont be doing that, while not coming off as a slacker?

sokoloff

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Letting would be employer know you wont be going the extra mile?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2018, 07:01:14 AM »
I am one who frequently goes the extra mile because I love what I do, but much less now that I have kids.

The easiest way to state is to simply leave at a reasonable hour. To me that doesn't mean that your chair is spinning at 5:01 everyday, but if you're on a death march project, just leave at some reasonable hour. What's the very worst case? That they fire you? Does that leave you worse off than today? (Nope.)

jim555

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2018, 09:08:43 AM »
One of the reasons I no longer work.

Eric

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2018, 10:01:11 AM »
I think this is why part time jobs exist.  Find one of those, and they automatically come with the expectation that you won't be going above and beyond.

bacchi

• Walrus Stache