Author Topic: How much did you end up working post FIRE?  (Read 10434 times)

DrSweden

• Stubble
How much did you end up working post FIRE?
« on: August 17, 2017, 02:30:12 AM »
I am about half way to fire (in money not time. Hopefully the other halt will go faster). I work as a psychiatrist and like my job. What I don't like is having to be there every day and working 50 hours a week. Being on call during night and on weekends. I am planning to become a SWAMI. I have also thought about working more in wintertime and not at all in summer (may-sept). With a long christmas breake that would be about 50%. I really like the thought of working when I want and not having to work.

So after FIRE, how much did you end up working?

Gunny

• Stubble
Re: How much did you end up working post FIRE?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2017, 05:58:16 AM »
I sub a few days a month during the school year.  But, as you know if you read my post just below yours, this morphed into a temporary full-time gig. But it's nice to know I don't have to work and I actually enjoy the work teaching/mentoring kids in the JROTC program. 

DrSweden

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2017, 06:25:48 AM »
I sub a few days a month during the school year.  But, as you know if you read my post just below yours, this morphed into a temporary full-time gig. But it's nice to know I don't have to work and I actually enjoy the work teaching/mentoring kids in the JROTC program. 

Yes I saw that. Is it more fun to teach now when you don't have to? It is a big difference between signing up to work a few months to taking a job and having to resign if you want to stop.

libertarian4321

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2017, 06:58:25 AM »
After 4 years of more or less full time retirement (I did occasional consulting when requested, but it was only a few times a year), I'm not working, more or less, full time.