Author Topic: Guilt about quitting?  (Read 9915 times)

FIREby35

• Pencil Stache
Re: Guilt about quitting?
« Reply #50 on: September 04, 2018, 06:44:35 AM »
So here is a post that hits me the hardest.  I have had a Mustachian path before MMM due to difficult work situations and an ability to keep expenses well below earnings.  Through the help of a good friend who encouraged me to start a business to support his business, of which he is one of many partners, I've had a very successful run (we are very good at what we do, unique I think).  My FIRE number 10 years ago was $1 - $1.5M, and I'm at my $3M fatfire now (which doesnt even include the full 529s for the kids, the DAF and the paid for home).  Of course this happened thru growth which has included a half dozen employees who depend upon me (and I care about) and a business venture partner who depends upon me (and I care about).  I've been working for 2 years on 'handing off' my team to the big business as i feel I owe that to everyone.  My plan is to stick around for at least 2 more years to help the transition though at a half-time position.  The funniest part has been one of the sticking points is literally the large company wondering what "trick" is up my sleeve for giving up this profitable company.... no one understands the word "enough" I guess anymore...

I'm close to saying screw it but I feel I owe more to everyone than that.  I frankly like what I do to an extent but don't want to take on the risk involved in owning a company given I already have more than enough, and would rather do what I do a reasonable 20 hour work week instead of 60 hours a week. My oldest is 2 years from leaving the nest and I'm realizing time is passing me by.  And I'm tired. Just very F***king tired.