Author Topic: FIRE tomorrow – 401k Review – Last minute ditch effort to max out the year  (Read 4841 times)

Enigma

• Bristles
So originally I didn’t want to fire until I maxed out my 401k plan, enjoyed the Thanksgiving company paid time off, and enjoyed Christmas winter paid time off.
However, sitting in a cubicle farm for 9.5 daily without anything to do and a 1.5 hour commute each day (45min each way) became too much a month ago.  So I pulled the trigger and rejoined the ‘2019 FIRE cohort’.  Tomorrow will be my last day working as a computer security expert at XYZ company.

But being a licensed realtor, I qualified as a sole-proprietor & self-employed.  This has helped me while selling off half my rent estate investments the past few months.

So a couple of weeks ago, I put in for a Vanguard Individual-401K (i401k, Solo-401k) and was able to finish maxing my 401k out for the year (combined 19k) and was able to put in a nice company match (25% of my 1099 earnings).

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian
So originally I didn’t want to fire until I maxed out my 401k plan, enjoyed the Thanksgiving company paid time off, and enjoyed Christmas winter paid time off.
However, sitting in a cubicle farm for 9.5 daily without anything to do and a 1.5 hour commute each day (45min each way) became too much a month ago.  So I pulled the trigger and rejoined the ‘2019 FIRE cohort’.  Tomorrow will be my last day working as a computer security expert at XYZ company.

But being a licensed realtor, I qualified as a sole-proprietor & self-employed.  This has helped me while selling off half my rent estate investments the past few months.

So a couple of weeks ago, I put in for a Vanguard Individual-401K (i401k, Solo-401k) and was able to finish maxing my 401k out for the year (combined 19k) and was able to put in a nice company match (25% of my 1099 earnings).