Author Topic: 64 and 7 months-- Medicare time  (Read 2824 times)

BTDretire

• Magnum Stache
64 and 7 months-- Medicare time
« on: October 01, 2019, 04:45:58 PM »
I need to start thinking about signing up for medicare.
As is stands now, I have myself my wife and both kids on a grandfather* in BCBS policy. 
I will be the only one moving to a new policy.
Assume I have no knowledge of what my options are or what I should be looking at.
What's important? I have two prescriptions of $14 a month, although one is free, a benefit of the ACA, "I do suspect my premium went up more than the $3.42 that the prescription did cost me."

*grandfathered in= I had the policy before Obamacare and it was found good enough that it didn't need to be displaced. That doesn't mean the ACA didn't force new benefits on it causing the price to rise considerably.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: 64 and 7 months-- Medicare time
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2019, 05:39:39 PM »
Assume I have no knowledge of what my options are or what I should be looking at.
In that case, starting with Medicare.gov: the official U.S. government site for Medicare might be appropriate.

Cranky

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2019, 06:00:44 AM »
You will soon be receiving approximately 1 bazillion pieces of mail from companies who want you to sign up for their plan. So, first you have to decide if you want traditional Medicare or a Medicare Advantage plan (which is like an HMO).

Be aware that you will have to create a social security account online in order to apply for Medicare, and the security questions are confusing. Find the names of all your mortgage lenders ever before you even start.

6-Saturdays

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2019, 07:43:04 AM »
You will soon be receiving approximately 1 bazillion pieces of mail from companies who want you to sign up for their plan. So, first you have to decide if you want traditional Medicare or a Medicare Advantage plan (which is like an HMO).