Author Topic: Words/phrases I wish would go away  (Read 611860 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Words/phrases I wish would go away
« Reply #850 on: March 26, 2019, 07:56:32 AM »
I don't hate it as much as the use of their/them as singular non-gendered pronouns but it's close.

I'm with you. I mentioned this to arebelspy once, and they said I just needed to get used to it.

There's a lot of truth to what @arebelspy said. Everyone just evolve a tiny bit.

i fully support the evolution of language and the use of non-gender pronouns if that's what people want.  no objection to that, but we need a new conjugation, not the appropriation of a conjugation that already has a well established meaning.

i use words like 'complexify' and other verbifications so i'd like to hear some new word for the pronouns.  :)

We have these. Ze and zir, for example.

I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

BlueHouse

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #851 on: March 26, 2019, 08:36:37 AM »
I don't hate it as much as the use of their/them as singular non-gendered pronouns but it's close.

I'm with you. I mentioned this to arebelspy once, and they said I just needed to get used to it.

There's a lot of truth to what @arebelspy said. Everyone just evolve a tiny bit.
I agree.  They is right.

GreenSheep

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #852 on: March 28, 2019, 08:09:49 AM »
It bugs me when people add a word because they don't understand that one of the words they're using already contains the meaning of the word they're adding, as in:

"inhale in" (yoga instructor)
"revert back"
"repeat again"

Or, oddly enough, when they do the opposite:

"very sort of"