Author Topic: Words/phrases I wish would go away  (Read 611778 times)

jinga nation

• Magnum Stache
Re: Words/phrases I wish would go away
« Reply #400 on: December 19, 2017, 10:22:17 AM »
I will throw mine into the mix. I hate the current use of the word “Maker” to describe anyone and everyone who crafts or builds anything at all.  It had a slow build up for me, but just this week the scales tipped when someone described a bunch of engineering students doing their engineering student design competition type things as “Makers”.  Ugh. Like nails on a chalkboard.

Curated Pop Up Holiday Maker Market is the new pretentious way to say Juried Christmas Craft Fair.   
As an engineer, I look at this from a historical perspective. Looking back a few decades, a larger percentage of the US population worked in industries, small to large, to make things. Those people had profession names e.g carpenter, or were labelled "factory workers". A lot of that manufacturing is gone and we have a service/gig economy. So those who make are "makers" and those who spend unnecessarily are "idiots".

But yes, the term "maker" is ludicrous.

GreenSheep

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #401 on: December 19, 2017, 10:29:54 AM »
"She text me and said she wanted to meet for lunch." Instead of "texted."

I can see how this might be spoken rapidly so that the "ed" is sort of skipped over (Maybe. Even that is a stretch.), but I've even seen people write it this way!

Sounds like AAVE, which is just as legitimate as any other language/dialect and has consistent grammar rules.

Unless it was a white person saying it then...not cool.

https://www.hawaii.edu/satocenter/langnet/definitions/aave.html

The verb in AAVE is often used without any ending. As is the case with the English creoles, there are some separate words that come before the verb which show when or how something happens. These are called "tense/aspect markers".

Past tense: