Author Topic: What would it take to restore the arts to being profitable careers?  (Read 59435 times)

VladTheImpaler

• Stubble
Re: What would it take to restore the arts to being profitable careers?
« Reply #200 on: September 13, 2016, 04:46:08 PM »
Jack,
If I may ask, what do you do for a living and how old are you?

That is not a loaded question.
I sincerely want to know so that I may gain some context to your stance on copyright.
I've shared a snipet about my background and involvement on the business side of the arts, so it's only fair you return the favor.
I want to know where you are coming from.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #201 on: September 13, 2016, 04:49:11 PM »
I sincerely want to know so that I may gain some context to your stance on copyright.

I agree with basically everything Jack's posted, so to give you the background of someone who's coming from the same place: I am FIRE'd.  Was a teacher. 31 years old.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #202 on: September 13, 2016, 05:02:20 PM »
I'm en engineer on jacks side of this copyright battle. 29 and 7 years til fire.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #203 on: September 13, 2016, 06:06:44 PM »
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Jack

• Magnum Stache