Author Topic: The Logistics of Self-Driving Cars  (Read 27427 times)

Christof

• Pencil Stache
Re: The Logistics of Self-Driving Cars
« Reply #150 on: January 19, 2018, 06:02:09 PM »
It really depends on who is introducing autonomous cars.. You need a critical mass. You are right if people are either choosing to own a car or if car sharing is split across many different companies. If, however, there are a few global or important companies for ride sharing at a price that is competitive, it mght be sufficient that those in their 20ties and 30ties are interested, to get a critical mass.

Just Joe

• Walrus Stache
  • Teach me something.
« Reply #151 on: January 20, 2018, 11:21:26 AM »
I'll be happy to have a self-driving car when I'm really old and unable to drive.

Yankuba

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #152 on: January 20, 2018, 03:52:45 PM »
Heh. My wife *hates* being a passenger in a car. (Not because of my driving, I'm a very good driver, clean record, honest!) I always let her drive, when we're together, because making her ride, without the steering wheel in her hands and the pedals at her feet, is just too obviously cruel. I'm all enthusiastic about autonomous vehicles, but I don't know if you'll ever get her into one. You'll probably have to get our generation into the grave before you can complete the transition.

I could have written this word for word. I only get to drive if it has been a long day and we’re far from home and my wife is more tired than me. Otherwise, my wife does all the driving and my friends mock me for it. Since I take public transportation to and from work and we are a one car family there are months where I only drive the car once.

Yankuba

• Handlebar Stache

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #154 on: January 23, 2018, 10:50:24 AM »