Author Topic: The casual attitude towards income taxation  (Read 174681 times)

onlykelsey

• Handlebar Stache
Re: The casual attitude towards income taxation
« Reply #150 on: April 08, 2016, 11:20:44 AM »
You know what I really miss?  Freshman year philosophy classes.  This thread really brings me back.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #151 on: April 08, 2016, 11:23:06 AM »
It's also frustrating that you just ignore posts you have no response to.  You pick and choose what you feel are the "weakest" posts, and try to nitpick on them.

That's not a style of discussion, that's trying to "win."

If you make a point, someone responds, and you completely drop that line of the argument, it's pretty telling for how strong your argument is though.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #152 on: April 08, 2016, 11:23:53 AM »

... If the private doctor agreed to treat you without charging you, you should not have to pay a mandatory fee to the government. Obviously. How is that not obvious to you?

This your example, not mine!  You're the one that said that under this completely hypothetical situation the government had levied a mandatory fee.  YOu appear to want to come up with some far-fetched example in order to prove your point that taxation is unethical. There is no $1k government fee for treating patients, but there *are* fees at low-cost clinics where doctors volunteer their time because a LOT goes into medical care besides just the time for the doctor you see.  I speak as someone who's spent a lot of time in the health-care industry.  Maybe come up with another random hypothetical?