Author Topic: Tell me about a lesson you learned the hard way.  (Read 11388 times)

sparkytheop

• Pencil Stache
Re: Tell me about a lesson you learned the hard way.
« Reply #50 on: November 03, 2017, 10:25:01 PM »
If a relationship has to be kept a secret, you probably shouldn't be in it.

It's better to be alone than with the wrong person.

Life is easier when you make the choice not to care what other people think.

shelivesthedream

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #51 on: November 04, 2017, 05:34:30 AM »
Do not eat sriracha. Your body, for some reason, cannot digest it. I don't care if it's tasty - you will regret it.

Most of the other things I am still learning the hard way, through repeatedly banging my head against them.

ETA: One of the things I am going the hard route on but still haven't quite managed to learn is that changing something about the outside of you WILL NOT change the inside. Yes, having a house decorated the way you like it is pleasant, but it won't make you magically yearn to do chores every day if you never did before so the house will still be messy and dirty (even if you have painted the dining room in the most darling shade of blue). Yes, it's a nice feeling to wear a smart new outfit but it won't actually make you super-energetic and efficient. Yes, you can buy lots of "clever" books and magazines but if you don't actually want to read them you won't learn anything. Buying a whizz-bang new set of tools won't make you actually better at doing something that you don't know how to do and aren't really interested in. WHY CAN I NOT LEARN THIS LESSON? Every time I think that this time it will be different...
« Last Edit: November 04, 2017, 05:44:08 AM by shelivesthedream »

wenchsenior

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #52 on: November 04, 2017, 09:01:53 AM »