Poll

Do you believe one specific religion is correct?

Yes
22 (15.2%)
No
123 (84.8%)

Total Members Voted: 136

Author Topic: Religion?  (Read 184211 times)

frugalnacho

• Walrus Stache
Re: Religion?
« Reply #550 on: November 11, 2014, 07:22:13 AM »
No religion teaches to kill anyone and to get involved in criminal activities. All religions teach to live peacefully.

lol.

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #551 on: November 11, 2014, 07:27:28 AM »
No religion teaches to kill anyone and to get involved in criminal activities. All religions teach to live peacefully.
You don't know much about history, do you?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #552 on: November 11, 2014, 09:36:55 AM »
Also religions often don't follow their own teachings.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #553 on: November 11, 2014, 12:55:02 PM »
Also religions often don't follow their own teachings.
But many religions do teach that killing (or dying) in the name of the God is good. 

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #554 on: November 12, 2014, 06:08:40 PM »
Many?

Pretty much all of them that have a singular supreme being, yes.   They typically use some variation of "God commanded me to do evil as a test" or "God commanded that I smite the heathens" but, ironically, never "God commanded me to smite the heathens as a test" because that confuses the message that killing is bad, I mean good, I mean sometimes good and sometimes bad.

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #555 on: November 13, 2014, 07:33:41 AM »
Many?